Memorial Day Weekend Inspiration

IMG_5628

IMG_5629

What is more American than gingham and green grass? When I spotted this ruffled romper online I knew I had to order it. Thankfully it arrived just in time to wear for the start of Memorial Day Weekend, also known as the unofficial start of the summer season.

IMG_5631

Rompers are one of my beat-the-heat closet staples because they’re so easy to throw on and look put together in while still keeping cool in 90 degree weather (yes, it is already in the 90’s here in Texas.) This little romper features a deep v-neck and v-back for optimum breeziness. I like how the gingham is a classic black and white but it has an updated feel with the ruffled bottoms. I paired it here with my favorite white sandals and a wicker basket bag.

IMG_5630

How adorable is this wicker basket bag! These retro bags are popping up everywhere right now and I can’t scroll through my Instagram feed without seeing at least five different Southern fashionistas toting one. From high-end designer versions to vintage finds to modern versions these bags are cropping up in all forms. I liked this one because of the larger size and flat bottom, as well as the leather straps. I plan to pack sandwiches and fruity drinks in it for little summer picnics where dragging the entire picnic basket along would be too cumbersome. I think my favorite part about it though is that it was a local find- a vintage treasure I spotted at a garage sale! IMG_5632

I hope y’all have a great memorial day weekend and attend lots of picnics and cookouts! For those looking to shop, here is everything I’m wearing linked below-

Romper: SheIn (Awesome price! The bow can be removed and I wore mine without it today)
Shoes: Jack Rogers 
in white
Earrings: Kendra Scott in white pearl

Leave a Reply

